Kosher chocolate Easter eggs? Yes, and that's not all

Who doesn't love chocolate, right?

Whether you're Christian or Jewish, here are two surprising facts about chocolate Easter eggs just in time for Good Friday:

Chocolate Easter eggs. Credit:

1. According to Rabbi Deborah R. Prinz, lecturer, blogger, and author of "On the Chocolate Trail: A Delicious Adventure Connecting Jews, Religions, History, Travel, Rituals and Recipes to the Magic of Cacao," in the 20th century, the Orthodox Jewish chocolate company Barton's produced kosher certified Easter eggs. The Madelaine Chocolate Company, a company owned by a family related to the family owning Barton's, still produces kosher chocolate Easter eggs today.

2. In another surprise, Prinz writes that 17th-century Jewish expert chocolate makers in southwest France first developed chocolate Easter eggs. They were passed around during Catholic Mass as morsels of sustenance.

"Believe it or not, if you eat a chocolate egg this week, you will be connecting your palate to surprising Jewish history," Prinz wrote in the Huffington Post this week.

Posted on March 25, 2016 .