Israel, the United States and Brazil were the only three countries to vote against a U.N. General Assembly resolution on Thursday to condemn the U.S. embargo of Cuba for the 28th year.

The measure passed 187-3, with Ukraine and Colombia abstaining.

Last year, the tally was 189-2 with only Israel and the United States voting in opposition, with no abstentions.

UNGA resolutions are not legally binding nor enforceable.

The U.S. embargo on Cuba was enacted in 1960 after the revolution led by Fidel Castro. Two years later, it was extended to include virtually all exports.

“Allies are those who stand shoulder-to-shoulder in support of one another. We are proud to be one of the few countries standing with the U.S. against a resolution that calls for an end to its embargo against Cuba. We will always stand with #America in fighting for a better world,” tweeted Israeli Ambassador to the United Nations Danny Danon.

“Thank you! I value the friendship shared by the United States and #Israel and appreciate your support,” tweeted U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Kelly Craft in response to Danon.

Pro-Israel Journalism
Done Right

JNS works around the clock to provide high-quality, pro-Israel content. We’ve taken numerous steps to improve the quality, quantity, and distribution of our content for even greater impact. We intend to keep on growing, and to do that we need your help.

Please help us take pro-Israel journalism to the next level with a tax-deductible sponsorship, either on a one-time or recurring monthly basis. Jewish News Syndicate is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization.