The Israeli Health Ministry on Sunday issued a severe travel warning for Argentina, Russia and the Seychelles, due to the severity of the coronavirus pandemic in those countries.

The ministry warned that if morbidity figures in these countries do not improve significantly, they are expected to join the list of “maximum risk” countries to which Israeli citizens are forbidden to travel, and called on the public to plan their travel spots accordingly.

The list of countries currently on the “red list” are Ukraine, Ethiopia, Brazil, India, South Africa, Mexico and Turkey. Travel to these countries by Israeli citizens and residents requires special approval, and all individuals entering Israel from one of those locations must enter quarantine upon arrival.

The ministry also warned against traveling to Africa and South and Central America, as well as to India, Greece, Egypt, Germany, Serbia, Poland, Croatia and Romania.

“In light of increasing global morbidity, the Health Ministry recommends avoiding all non-essential travel at this time,” the warning concluded.


Jewish News Syndicate

With geographic, political and social divides growing wider, high-quality reporting and informed analysis are more important than ever to keep people connected.

Our ability to cover the most important issues in Israel and throughout the Jewish world—without the standard media bias—depends on the support of committed readers.

If you appreciate the value of our news service and recognize how JNS stands out among the competition, please click on the link and make a one-time or monthly contribution.

We appreciate your support.